top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaleb Monroe

Being a writer

No one tells you how hard it is to be a writer. No, I don't mean an author. I mean a writer. I won't lie to you. Writing a book was easy for me. I had an idea, and I told it, end of story (sorry for the pun). I feel like I did a great job with the characters, the conversations they had, and the trippy endings I crafted. I even found a way to connect three different worlds of characters together under one great threat. I took me years to write, but I finished all 7 books. I did it. Like I said, the writing was the easy part.


The hard part no one tells you about is how to be a successful writer. The marketing skills that it requires of you seem impossible to attain. The fact that I am one of the millions of writers out there vying for your attention is terrifying. I entered a fight not realizing how one-sided it is. That is why being is a writer is so hard. I put years of work in my stories. I put thousands of dollars into books, and yet, I barely see any profit from them. This isn't a pity I am throwing to get you to buy my books. No, this is simply spelling out the hard truth of what I am trying to do.


I want to be a successful writer. I want people of ages and genders and walks of life to gravitate towards my works. I want them to come back to my stories because they love the characters over and over again. That is being a writer means to me.


I hope you appreciate my candor with you as I lower curtain on how a writer's life can be. This will be the first of this type of blog you will see from me. I want you to know what I am doing. I want you to see the good times and the bad for my journey, but more importantly, I want you to understand who I am as a writer: a simple guy who loves telling stories.


(PS - I am terrible with grammar. Please excuse any mistakes you find. Again, this is me.)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Editing

Here is another area I struggle with as a writer. I am terrible with grammar. To prove it, I am going to type this up and not proofread it. I love putting together stories full of characters that you

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page